h1

I’m alive!

September 10, 2006

I know that a lot of people are wondering about the project’s status, since I haven’t updated the site since July. Well, I gave out some tiny bits and pieces of information in the comments, but not everyone reads those.

The short answer to your questions: I haven’t made progress on the hacking-side of the project since the last news but I will take it up again soon. In the meanwhile the script has been revised again, so it will be an even better experience to play the game 😉

The long answer (filled with boring information about my life, you have been warned ;)):

During the last weeks my main problem was that my Notebook on which I am usually working (ok, always) began to drive me insane. Not only has it tons of little defects which make it unbearable to work on it (overheating -> random shut downs, just to name the worst thing) but it got slower and slower and slower. Before a romhacker, I am an avid gamer, but I could no longer play recent games as well. Just looking at the notebook annoyed the hell out of me.

So I decided to get a new PC to end the misery. I spent most of August working to get the money for it and finally ordered it two weeks ago. Since I must have the most rotten luck on this planet my order was messed up two times until the parts finally arrived this Friday. There were some problems again (one of my two RAM modules is broken -_-), but the thing is running now. So, I finally have a lightning fast computer again to work on. If anyone is interested in it here are the main specs:

  • Core 2 Duo E6600 (2x 2,40Ghz)
  • Asus P5W DH Deluxe Mainboard
  • Ati Radeon X1900XT 512MB
  • 1GB RAM (2 if one module wasn’t broken)

With that obstacle out of the way I can theoretically resume work on the project anytime now. Currently I am still a little busy though. I have to finalize some annoying paperwork for university (I am starting to study in October) and there is some trouble with my Clan. I am Co-Leader of a Dawn of War Clan, and since the game recently annoyed the hell out of us due to it’s horrible balance there were some major crisis to overcome. Right now we are reconstructing things, propably we’ll create a new Squad for the game Company of Heroes which is going to be released in one week (We all participated in the BETA test). As a leader I am pretty much occupied with that right now.

I’ll definitely let you know when things get moving once again.

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who writes comments on the project, your continued support really keeps me going.

Thank You!

37 comments

  1. alternate a “nice” alternative


  2. Well, I’ve been checking this website for updates every day for at least a month now, eagerly anticipating any update hoping that you might have actually just been working on the project secretly without posting anything trying to get it completed, but alas, no such luck. That is ok though, good to hear you are getting everything straightened out, and I hope that you can beging working on the project as soon as possible, not to rush you or anything, everyone has been waiting for the translation for quite some time another month or two, hopefully at most, isn’t that much more to wait. Keep up the good work, no pressure or anything. Will continue to check in for any news or progress and thanks for all the hard work being done.


  3. Hey, no pressure man. Take your time. You are doing this for free for us after all.


  4. Lol, nice an “official” update! Well I’m glad to hear that you finally got your PC issues taken care of for the most part it sounds like as I remember you had spoken of it’s issues awhile back. I’m glad things are working out better for you, and as always I joyfully await any direct progress on the project that is made as it comes up. Once again KaioShin, thank you for your work, your dedication and your decision to translate this game to make it playable to the rest of us. Words can’t tell you how much I appreciate it.

    One thing I just stopped to think about however, when the rom is actually finished, are you going to post a link to a translated rom? or are you going to post a patch that we need to apply ourselves to make it playable?) If it’s the latter, I’ve never actually had to do that before and while I have an idea on how to do it, it would help if you explained how exactly it’s done just to be sure.

    Sorry for the long post and if the question is a stupid one I also apologize lol.


  5. The translation will be distributed as a patch. The readme file will contain instructions on how to apply it. It’s really easy, trust me 😉

    http://www.romhacking.net/faq/#question3


  6. Keep up the great work KaioShin, I was happy when Devil Man took the project of DQM:CH, but it was quickly dropped. I hope that the game will run smoothly via emualation on my DS lite!


  7. I’m not sure if I’ve signed as Purge or Purgatory before.. but Its the same person.

    Anyways… You guys are great for working on this. I’ve recently aquired a perfect copy of DQ7 (Unscratched AND has its instruction booklet), and I’m playing that right now. That and Maple Story … >> But.. when I’m finished with DQ7 and tired of MS.. I’m extremely glad that there’s a chance I can fall back on the game that I’ve been wanting to play since I got the news that Square Enix dropped it after the merge.

    Thanks, guys. I dont know if you guys really understand the full impact you’re having, and the joy you’re spreading.. and just how good of a deed this is. So for everyone, outside of the imposter translator (>> stupid imposters.)… Thank You.

    -Sincerely,

    -Purgatory / Purge / PurgeTheInnocent


  8. Heh, you’re not the only one with a bad computer. Well, I hope you get Caravan Hearts done! Most of the English speaking Dragon Quest players are counting on thee, KaioShin! Wilst thou fail or wilst thou triumph? Heh, hopefully, you will triumph over the coding and hacking.


  9. yup


  10. Thank you KaioShin for the clarification on that question. Once again from ColdDrone, I wish you goodluck on the game.


  11. I’ve been having trouble with my computer overheating for my mod work, too. Anyway, good to see you’ve overcome. Hopefully I’ll be sitting on a beach on Maui, drinking a lemonade, and playing your game soon enough… Well, perhaps the first two might not happen, but I can tell you for sure the last one will!


  12. Was the previous comment regarding the release of the rom just another idiot pretending to be your translator again? Or was that actually him? I mean I know that the comment is no longer there so my guess is that it was just someone else, but I wanted to be sure.


  13. Argh, I hoped I got it before someone read it, looks like I was too slow. It was the same idiot from last time.


  14. Can’t you just IP ban him completely from this site?


  15. What’s up with that dude? Why does he do that? (I didn’t read the comment s/he wrote, I just read the previous posts.) Anyways, KaioShin, I hope you update us soon! 😀


  16. Yeah.. uh.. Kaioshin =P Delete those, man, they’ll bring people’s spirits down.


  17. Ok, I deleted the crap. Unfortunately I can’t do anything against it at the moment. Looks like I’ll have to give the new website greater priority than the actual hacking, thanks to the intelligent people of this world.


  18. Ok, that almost makes me feel bad lol. I feel responsible for having noticed that post and mentioning it, it seems like the site thing wouldn’t have happened had I not said something.


  19. Out of curiousity KaioShin, if you could take a guess in which the first release of your patch would be, when it it be?

    Keep up the outstanding work


  20. I honestly can’t make an estimate of a release date. I know that you guys are really hoping for a close release since the translation is already finished but let me tell you that there is -a lot- of hacking work left to do. I can’t even promise that I’ll get it done this year although I’m trying.

    I’m finishing up the new website design right now, I think it’ll launch early next week or even this weekend already.


  21. Good to hear man, Im glad to hear that your making progress and the site is doing well, the update about the release is a bit disappointing to be honest, but I completely understand that there is alot of work left to be done I dont doubt that. Well I look forward to hearing any good news in the near future.


  22. One question: What’s wrong with the site? I think it has an ok interface. After all, it seems like a blog, right? Anyhow, sad to hear your patch won’t be released as soon as all of us wished it to, but keep up the good work and don’t over-stress yourself! LOL, no one else but you can translate Caravan Hearts now! The world lies on thy shoulders, Warrior Kaioshin!


  23. >> Kaioshin… put down the IP and I’ll fuck him up.


  24. Man I am relly getting sick of that guy, he needs to get a life and stop being such a f*ck knob.


  25. Yes, it is time we turn to cyber-terrorism.

    lol.


  26. What an idiot, I would have put up the new site already (which gives me means to stop this asshole) but I’m waiting on the ftp data for the server. [*cough* lost them *cough*]

    His IP was 71-34-245-218.eugn.qwest.net. It’s a dynamic one, but since the posts weren’t that long ago you might still catch him. E-Mail is kkk@yahoo.com, I don’t know if it’s exists or not but one can try.

    @Mr. KKK: If you think this project is so shitty don’t visit this site. Just do me a favor and drown yourself.


  27. That’s what he thought, huh? Some people are really stupid and ignorant about some things, not to mention disrespectful! 😡

    KKK-dude, go do something else and leave Kaioshin alone, yo!


  28. In all honestly, KaioShin. My advice would just have an update if there is anything new rather than posting news here, or reply to comments in the next update. This “very nice person” can only post here on the comment system. I honestly don’t know why he goes to such great lengths to be an imposter.


  29. I’m looking forward to the new site, so he cant post that crap anymore.


  30. WHY THE HECK DOES HE HAVE TO USE ME AS AN INSPIRATION?!?!?!?!!?!??!!?!?!?! IF I COULD, I’D KICK’IM IN THE FACE!!!! WTF IS HIS PROBLEM?! STUPID IDIOT. Really now, some people should either stay quiet or complain somewhere else! AND I’M NOT RUSSIAN!!!


  31. Getting pissed off is rather pointless, it seems to be what he wants anyway.


  32. Hi~ I am SO happy about this project. I just found out about it a few days ago… Yay! I’m like, “ajklsdaslkdjalskd” over this. So awesome~ Well, good luck with this project of yours! :3


  33. You have a point… I should’ve learned that lesson back in middle school. But it just annoys me how some people just can’t tolerate other people’s hobbies or interests.


  34. Why does my post up there say I posted at 7;03 pm? I posted that today in the morning! XD


  35. That was me kind of. I changed the comment mode so that I have to manually approve every comment. Until I say yes to it, new comments won’t go to the site. That will propably affect the time under which it’s posted.

    The new site is coming, just a few minor things here and there left to do.


  36. Hmmm… It’s been a while… I hope you’re not having problems, KaioShin! /._.\ It’d be terrible if you have!


  37. The new site is already there for quite some time now… I thought I had disabled comment posting on this one.



Comments are closed.

